Cabbage + Sausage

On this particular weeknight, I was exhausted and it was HOT outside.  I did not want to spend much time standing at the stove.  But…there was a head of cabbage in the fridge that needed to be cooked up.  Two summers ago when we first got our CSA farm box from Genesis Growers, we got so much cabbage that we were “cabbaged” out by the end of the season.  I tried SO MANY CABBAGE recipes and even found a few favorites (like this one), but none were calling to me that night (certainly not one of my many recipes for cabbage + white bean soup).  I needed something fast and easy.  I decided to try Farmer Vicki’s suggestion from her weekly email about the farm box to cook cook up the cabbage with onion and sausages.

I don’t make meat very often, usually about once/week and never more than twice/week.  I keep Kosher meat frozen in the freezer and pull it out when needed.  Lucky for us, I had some frozen Romanian garlic sausages and pulled two out for the quick meal.

Ingredients:

1 onion, halved then sliced into rounds

1 clove garlic, chopped

2 garlic sausages, sliced into rounds

Half head green cabbages, sliced into small pieces

Method:

1. Sautee onion, garlic, and sausage together in a pan.  You do not need much oil–as you brown the sausage the fat will be released.

2. Add cabbage to the pan and cook until soft.

See….really really easy! I sometimes surprise myself when I make such an easy meal.  I served this with corn from the farm box–some of the best corn I have ever eaten!

Chopped cabbage

Onion, Garlic + Sausage

Add the cabbage

Corn with Cabbage + Sausage

WOULD I MAKE THIS AGAIN?  Maybe…it is a last resort since I don’t cook with meat very often.

WHAT I WOULD DO DIFFERENT: I might serve this over a baked potato…that would make it more hearty.

WHAT DID BABY THINK? She didn’t get to try it, it was eaten and finished while she was sleeping.



Leave a comment